Gary Samurai | The Hip-Hop Lemurian

_______________________________________________

Gary Samurai

Southern hip-hop is typically associated with materialistic rappers and somewhat shallow lyricism. However, in the midst of the clamor, a generation of conscious emcees is evolving. Gary Samurai is one of these rappers.   

      Gary Samurai is a seventeen year-old emcee from Atlanta, Georgia. In December of 2010, he released his début mixtape The Way of the Samurai. The mixtape was recorded in a span of six hours and its cover-art pays homage to the anime series Afro Samurai.

Currently, the Atlanta-based emcee has been hard at work with the band, The Shadowkicks, whose members include former C. Since interviewee, Avys Burroughs. In addition, Gary is preparing for the release of his second mixtape Sleepless in Seattle.

“It’s just me…it’s what I would like to say over sounds that I love”
–Gary Samurai
______________________________________________________

Q. How did you get started in music? How did you get your name?

The Way of the Samurai.

A. I started writing in elementary school, as an outlet for all my problems. With me being bullied and somewhat of an outcast, it really helped me relax. Then, around my 11th grade year of high school, I started recording music and getting a lot more serious.

Well, my name was derived from Hagakure: Book of the Samurai. It basically states that the way of the samurai is found in death. You can die quickly, no matter what the cause may be, so you must always be mindful of that and continue on your journey in life.

Q. How would you describe your sound?

A. My sound isn’t really different. It’s just me. That’s really the best way I can put it. Everything I deal with in life is in there. There’s always a hint of inspiration from my favorite artists and other things, but besides that it’s what I would like to say over sounds that I love.

Q. What inspires your martial arts/samurai theme?

A. I’m really obsessed with Japanese culture- like, extremely obsessed. I just gravitate towards it, more than any other culture. Even my own. Afro Samurai played a big role in it as well.

Q. What is your creative process?

A. It basically starts off with one of two things. Either I think about something I love dearly, and decide to put my own creativity with it or I’m extremely stressed and decide to put my problems in it. It usually involves me watching anime, reading, or being in complete silence.

Q. What’s your favorite song to perform and why?

A. That would have to be “Johnny Cage”. It’s by far the most energetic song my live band and I perform. The intro to it is wildness at its finest. Plus, Johnny Cage is one of my favorite personal songs.

Q. Who are your favorite underground artists (musicians or visual artists)?

A.  This list might be long. But, as far as underground goes, some of my favorites are Childish Gambino, LeVi, Curbside Jones, Avionadrimida, Plue Starfox, Rizz Capolatti, FedEx, Self-Explanatory, KC, Kidd Steve, rMell, Sir E.U., CRASHprez, m_boogs,
Randall Naadir, LeFty, Thelonious Martin, Dylan Tran, Ethereal, KeithCharles, Micah Freeman, J-Coop, Supreme I.N.K., Cloud., & frankenstein. It’s more, but I don’t want to just keep writing names. lol.

Q. What projects are you currently working on?

A. The latest project I’m working on is titled Sleepless In Atlanta. It’s a 7 track project, fully produced by myself. It tells the trials and tribulations of my everyday life. Not really any songs on there for happiness or anything. Just something I needed to get out. It will be released August 13th!

Q. Who are some artists you have worked with (musicians or visual artists)?

A. As of now, I’ve worked with LeVi, Rizz Capolatti, Self-Explanatory, LeFty, Eratic, Mr. Kinetik, Randall Naadir, Dylan Tran, & Plue Starfox.

 Q. Who would you like to work with in the future?

A. I’m really hoping to work with Curbside Jones, the entire Thumbs Up collective, the entire Kool Klux Klan, Cloud., Lupe Fiasco, MF DOOM, Madlib, Childish Gambino, KiD CuDi, MadHatter, Flying Lotus, and Rza. That’s all I can think of, right now.

Q. Where do you see yourself ten years from now?

A. Hopefully, I’ll be living in California. I plan to move there, continue with my music and just live happily. I also hope for a Grammy. Fingers crossed on that one. Also, I want to frequently be featured on [adult swim] & G4 by then.

Q. Common Since…Magazine aims to emphasize the relationship between art and music. Do you have
any views on the connection between the two?

A. Personally, I believe that art & music go hand in hand. Music and art are two of the most beautiful things in the universe. Yet, some of the most beautiful things from those categories may not have even been created, had it not been for the other. I feel like in order to create beautiful [music], you must use some form of art as a muse. Same goes with art.

Q. Finally, How can fans contact you and/or listen to your music?

A. These links are the places that you can reach me for ANYTHING! I’ll also put up my email, for anyone who is inquisitive about booking me: http://garysamurai.bandcamp.com/ , https://twitter.com/#!/GarySamurai , http://garysamurai.tumblr.com/ , http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gary-Samurai/229328330413203 , garysamuraiDPF@gmail.com

Oh, I’d also like to thank Common Since…Magazine for taking the time out to even interview me! It’s truly appreciated!

______________________.II._______________________

Besides rapping, Gary’s hobbies include “watching anime, reading manga, skating, watching awesome movies, learning and researching esoteric things, and being a good ole’ internet pirate.” You can download Gary Samurai’s mixtape The Way of the Samurai and other singles at www.garysamurai.bandcamp.com. His second mixtape is set to release August 13th, 2011.

_____________________

 

Leave a comment